Community Southwest

Creating Thriving Tribes Workshop - 13 July 2016

Public - Events

Creating Thriving Tribes Workshop

for Executives & Managers

  • Create rituals to improve your personal mood and performance
  • Develop the skills and mindset needed to help those with a low mood
  • Build a resilient culture within organisations
  • Create a tribe that outperforms, outlasts and outmaneuvers
  • Engage employees to be optimistic for the future and deliver ongoing performance
  • Implement behaviours and resources to produce a mentally healthy organisation

    South West Victoria Graeme Cowan Workshop                    Building leadership resilience, engagement & performance


    Date:            Wednesday 13 July 2016

    Time:            9.00am ­– 4.00pm

    Venue:          Lady Bay Resort

                         2 Pertobe Road Warrnambool 

    Attendance:  Executives and Managers

    Contact:        Richard Zerbe

    Ph:                0448 505 885

    Email:           This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

    Presenter: Graeme Cowan

    Graeme Cowan is one of Australia's leading experts in building resilience and engagement in the workplace.

    A director of R U OK?, he previously endured five years of depression that cost him his job as a joint managing director. Prior to this crisis he worked in senior leadership positions with Johnson & Johnson, Pfizer, and AT Kearney. Graeme has spoken across a wide range of industries with a focus in banking and financial services, healthcare, professional services, government, and education.

    Some of his clients include NAB, Medibank, Ramsay Health Care, Defence Department, Comminsure, ANZ, Centrelink, The CEO Institute, and Real He is the author of the bestselling BACK FROM THE BRINK book series and has just launched Thriving Naturally internationally. His report The Elephant in the Boardroom: getting mentally fit for work was featured extensively in the media.

    Graeme worked in recruitment, career coaching, and outplacement with Morgan and Banks, before leading their culture change division. In 1998 he became Joint Managing Director of AT Kearney's Executive Search division before experiencing a mental breakdown in 2000 which led to him being out of the workforce for 6 years.

    He went through a 5 year episode of depression that his psychiatrist described as the worst he had ever treated. Graeme emerged from this crisis with a different view about how we can build our resilience & mood to thrive through change. He is motivated by helping people adapt better to uncertainty and ambiguity by following daily rituals that increase our mood and performance.

    In 2007 he launched his first book BACK FROM THE BRINK: Australians tell their stories of overcoming depression which became a best seller.

    His next book BACK FROM THE BRINK TOO: Helping your loved one overcome depression was awarded SANE Australia's book of the year. His third book BACK FROM THE BRINK: true stories and practical help for overcoming depression and bipolar was released in Australia, USA, and the UK in 2014.

    Graeme has been presented and conducted hundreds of workshops in Australia and the US since 2007. In 2009 he helped Gavin Larkin and a small team launch R U OK? and is currently on the board of directors.

    Join Graeme for a very engaging and compelling presentation, which provides a lasting impact for your organisation.